What a tragic way to die, one cigarette at a time

tumblr_static_cigarette_girl_vintage_woman-75322b43e1fdb22cd92183ec0c7c2eb2_h_large
I was the first of my friends to start smoking, I think I was twelve years old. Since then I’ve almost always smoked. Until the 20th of October. It was enough. When I have nothing to do, my brain starts to work in magic ways and overthinks everything. When you really think about smoking, it just makes no sense. It’s not that it calms you in the way that marihuana does. And it does not make you feel happy like any other drug does. I am going to say this very blunt, but you pay cigarette companies to give you cancer. You literally pay cancer! I just had to quit. I wasn’t a big smoker, I lighted about 10 cigarettes a day. I’ve installed this app called ‘QuitBuddy’ and it tells you how long you are quitted, how much money you have saved and how many cigarettes you didn’t smoke. For me it was really easy to quit, I think I am not that easily addicted to something – while I’ve smoked for a very long time.

I didn’t even quit for myself. It was always been my dream to become a mother – and while I’m still to young to start with children – I think that smoking isn’t increasing my odds. The future generation is watching us – and copying our behavior. My parents and big sis always smoked around me, so it was easy to get cigarettes because they were always around. I am not trying to make anyone quit – that would be hypocrite, since I’ve smoked a very long time. I’m just asking everyone to think about smoking, it just doesn’t make sense.

With love,
Jess

Published by

The Bold and the Pizza

22 | Dutch and Sicilian roots | and more

Leave a comment